Objective of the Competition:

Article 1: Economic Policy Research Foundation of Turkey (TEPAV) decided to launch a prize competition to support and promote academic research on Turkey in memory of Prof. Merih Celasun, deceased in 2005.

Eligibility Criteria:

Article 2: The articles to be submitted for the annual competition shall not be published in any journal or book. The article can be co-authored.

Article 3: Submitted articles shall be on the theme announced by TEPAV and shall be in Turkish or English.

Submission Documents and Application Method:

Article 4: The deadline for applications for 2012 Merih Celasun Award is March 31st, 2013. The applicants shall submit curriculum vitae, application form, the article and article summary (no more than 1000 words) online to yarisma@tepav.org.tr

Money Award and Method of Delivery:

Article 5: Authors of winning articles will be granted a money award, amount of which will be set each year by TEPAV, and a plate symbolizing the Merih Celasun Award. The money award for 2012 is 10.000 TL. The award will be given to the winning article decided by the jury upon an evaluation process.

Article 6: If more than one study wins the first prize, the award will be shared among the authors of winning articles.

Article 7: If a co-authored article wins the first prize, the money award will be paid to the applicant. TEPAV has no legal responsibility for the sharing of the award.

Article 8: The winning article will be announced on TEPAV website “Merih Celasun Memorial Day” page and applicants will be notified in written.

Article 9: 2012 Merih Celasun Award will be given with a ceremony at the Merih Celasun Memorial Day in 2013, at a date to be set later by TEPAV.

Selection of the Jury and Working Method:

Article 10: TEPAV shall draw a jury each year in line with the theme of the competition and the jury members shall be announced simultaneously with the announcement of the competition.

Article 11: The jury shall have minimum five members. TEPAV representative shall join the jury meetings to carry out the secretariat activities of the jury but shall not have a right to vote.

Article 12: Jury elects one member as the President and one member as the Reporter.

Article 13: The winning study shall be decided by the absolute majority of the jury. Meeting minutes shall be confidential.

Article 14: The decision of the jury is final and is not subject to an appeal.

Article 15: The voting shall be open ballot and jury members shall not abstain from their vote.

Article 16: TEPAV members and the jury members, their spouse or first- and second-degree relatives are not eligible to participate.

Copyright and Other Issues:

Article 17: The copyright of the winning study belongs to TEPAV, which can publish the study. In the event that the authors want to submit the study to renown and prestigious international academic journals for publication and ask TEPAV’s permission, TEPAV might refrain from the copyright. In that case, TEPAV shall not ask any royalty from the authors of the publisher.

Article 18: The applicants are deemed to have accepted the above criteria. TEPAV reserves the right to declare off the prize upon the identification that any of the information in the application form is incorrect.


For further information on the competition, please feel free to write us at: yarisma@tepav.org.tr

Please click for application form.